top: miso soup loaded with wakame, yuba (beancurd), and sweet potato glass noodles
bottom: trio of sweets — just-homemade coco-banana ice (well, the last few bites of it!); a glorious orange; and ChocoSol vegan chocolate in ‘Darkness’, ‘Sinfully Raw Vanilla’ and ‘Hemp Gold’
it’s been an intense yet satisfying week and i feel so blessed to enjoy the sunday to myself at home, after an always lovely morning practice at the shala. and as you can see, i even managed to feed myself — not much grocery shopping going on these days.
you-can-always-change-that asked: This might be a totally stupid question, but is yeast vegan friendly? I mean it's kind of a living thing, definitely more so than plants I think. I don't mean any offense or anything I'm really just curious.
Yeast is vegan friendly.
Just like how mushrooms and other things that are bacteria based.
For a longer (that includes sea monkeys!) explanation why, go here .
Don’t worry, it’s not a stupid question, it’s an incredibly common question that props up all the time. I have never heard anyone not eating yeast for any of the typical vegan reasons (so, they might not eat yeast because of health/allergy reasons, but that’s not because they are vegan).
Honey, for example, is a debated ingredient that isn’t vegan, but many people eat it and still call themselves vegan.
All these issues come down to the fact that a vegan diet is not as common as a vegetarian diet in society, however - that is changing! And over the next few years it’s probably very likely that these things will become more general knowledge.
Thank you for your question (: